Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content


MEMPHIS – The UT Research Foundation (UTRF) recognized 28 University of Tennessee Health Science Center researchers for recent discoveries and commercialization successes at the 2016 Innovation Award Ceremony, held on February 3rd at the UTHSC Student Alumni Center.

Speakers included UTHSC Chancellor Steve J. Schwab, M.D., UTHSC Vice Chancellor for Research, Steven R. Goodman, Ph.D., and UTRF’s Vice President, Richard Magid, Ph.D..

The ceremony serves to recognize and honor noted researchers and the innovations they have made at the university. All inventors that have been awarded a US patent or founded a startup company within the past year were presented with a plaque, and all inventors that contributed to a newly-licensed technology received a certificate of recognition. Several researchers received awards in more than one category.

During their remarks thanking the faculty, all of the speakers emphasized how important commercialization of research discoveries into new products was to the mission of modern academic medical centers.

“UTHSC researchers are inventing new drugs, vaccines, and medical devices that have the potential to treat significant diseases” said Richard Magid. “But the full benefit of a discovery is only realized after the university partners with the private sector to turn that invention into a proven, safe, and effective product.”

Special recognition was given to Dr. Duane D. Miller, recently retired Chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Harriet S. Van Vleet Professor of Pharmacy. Dr. Miller holds more than 100 US patents, and was inducted into the National Academy of Inventors in 2015.

Complete list of 2016 Health Science Center Innovation Award recipients