The University of Tennessee Research Foundation is pleased to accept nominations for the 2017 B. Otto and Kathleen Wheeley award for excellence in technology transfer.

Past winners include Gabor Tigyi, Tami WyattJ. Douglas Birdwell, Tsewei WangEdward ChaumShigetoshi Eda, and Jayne Wu.

Send nominations to:

UT Research Foundation, attn. Stacey S. Patterson
600 Henley Street, Suite 211 | UT Conference Center
Knoxville, TN 37996-4122 |

2016 Wheeley Award recipients Shigetoshi Eda and Jayne Wu

The 2017 awardee(s) will be honored at the UTRF Innovation Awards ceremony in December and will receive a $5,000 prize.

The deadline for nominations is November 20, 2017.

The B. Otto and Kathleen Wheeley Award is given to a University of Tennessee faculty member, graduate student, medical and/or pharmacy resident, or post-doctoral researcher who excels in the commercialization of university-based research results. The B. Otto and Kathleen Wheeley Foundation provides the award stipend, through an endowment fund established in 1989. The award is specifically intended to recognize faculty who take a direct and active role in the commercialization process. Criteria for the award include:

  • The technological and/or scientific significance of the invention
  • The market success of the product or process
  • The degree of active involvement by the nominee in the commercialization process
  • The nominee’s overall contribution to the University’s missions of teaching, research and service

Nominations must include the nominee’s curriculum vitae and a description of their technology transfer achievements including: the company (or companies) that have licensed the technology; information on the market to which the product is directed and its success in the marketplace; the innovative/unique qualities of the product or process and its benefits to society; and, the nominee’s active and direct involvement in the commercialization process.

Wheeley Award Overview
Past UTRF Wheeley Award Recipients